Meet the people behind NWO CHAINS

We thank all our speakers, participants, sponsors and partners over the years. NWO CHAINS is organised by NWO Domain Science in close cooperation with our partners KNCV and ChemistryNL.

Organising team NWO CHAINS 2022

vlnr: Mark Hoorens (Posters), Renée Calon (Event Assistant), Laura Cardona (Communication), Hans Peter van der Lit (Sponsors), Martine Kors (Communication), Eveline Mezger (Group leader event) and Vera Meester (Project leader).

Programme committee NWO CHAINS 2022

prof. Ferdinand Grozema (chair) – TUD
dr. Kimberly Bonger – RU
dr. Marta Costa Figueiredo – TU/e
dr. Tatí Fernández-Ibañez – UVA
prof.dr. Jan van Hest – TU/e
dr. Francesca Mattiroli – Hubrecht
prof.dr. Yvonne van der Meer – MU
prof.dr. Andries Meijerink – UU
dr. Loredana Protesescu – RUG
prof.dr. Jana Roithová – RU
prof.dr. Harry Bitter (representative KNCV) – WUR

Contact us

If you have any questions about NWO CHAINS, please contact us by email.

Event agency

Marloes&Co communication & events
Linda Hartendorp
Telephone: +31 6 30625707

Payments are handled by Mollie ordered by:
Stichting Conferences & Events
CoC number: 858982997
VAT number: NL858982997B01

Cancellation before 15 August: only administration costs of € 7,50 will be charged

Cancellation between 15 August and 5  September: 50% refund

Cancellation after 5 September: no refund

No-shows or if you cancel your room after 5 September: a fine of € 100 Euro extra will be charged

All attendees, speakers, sponsors and partners at NWO CHAINS are required to read the following code of conduct. Organisers will enforce this code throughout the event. We expect cooperation from all participants to help ensure a safe environment for everybody.

NWO CHAINS is dedicated to providing a harassment-free conference experience for everyone, regardless of gender, gender identity and expression, sexual orientation, disability, physical appearance, body size, race, age or religion. We do not tolerate harassment of conference participants in any form. Sexual language and imagery is not appropriate for any conference venue, including talks, Twitter and other online social media. Conference participants violating these rules may be sanctioned or expelled from the conference without a refund at the discretion of the conference organisers.

NWO uses the personal data for various purposes described below:

  • registration of NWO CHAINS 2022 delegates and visitors
  • carrying out admission control for NWO CHAINS 2022
  • informing delegates and visitors about events they registered for and future editions of NWO CHAINS
  • activities pertaining to NWO CHAINS 2022

NWO has engaged other parties, to process personal data exclusively for NWO. NWO entered into a processing agreement with these partners.

Participants of NWO CHAINS 2022 may be filmed or photographed (for instance in the form of still images). These films, photographs and still images will be used for reporting purposes of the conference and/or future editions, and will be published on the NWO-website, social media channels and newsletters. NWO will not share scientific content without prior consent of the involved researcher(s).


Chemistry of Life

The research field Chemistry of Life studies and exploits the chemical principles and phenomena that underlie biological processes. The many disciplines within Chemistry of Life include (bio)organic and medicinal chemistry, analytical and macromolecular chemistry that relate to biological processes, bio- and cellular chemistry, structural and chemical biology, molecular biology, and biophysics.

Chemistry of Materials

Chemistry of Materials focuses on the broad and multidisciplinary field of materials and encompasses the complete lifespan of a wide range of materials. It brings together expertise from chemistry, physics, biology and engineering. It covers the design-synthesis-characterisation-performance cycle. There are many types of material, such as organic, inorganic and hybrid, made up of biomacromolecules, macromolecules, colloids, small molecules, and so on.

Chemical Conversion

The Chemical Conversion community brings together disparate fundamental disciplines and technological sectors. Chemical conversion is integral to all disciplines in the chemical sciences from fundamental, molecular-level chemistry to large-scale chemical process technology. Fields such as catalysis, process technology and synthesis play a key role.

Fundamentals and Methods of Chemistry

The focus of Fundamentals and Methods of Chemistry research is on the development of new techniques and on improving existing ones. Advances in models, computational tools and experimental techniques in the full range of the chemical sciences will enable us to study chemical reactions at ever smaller and shorter length and timescales, while at the same time opening up possibilities to study ever larger complex molecular systems.

Chemistry and Industry​

The key aspects of this track are networking, discussion and the possibility to learn from each other. These aspects will make this track interesting for both (fundamental) researchers and R&D divisions in the industry. We envision that this track helps to decipher what knowledge and needs exist among research groups and which companies are interested in this knowledge or can complement those needs.

This track is not linked to an NWO research community, but only used during NWO CHAINS to connect academia and industry.